Vice Presidents, Deans, Directors, and Odum School of Ecology faculty and staff


  S. Jack Hu, Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost


  October 13, 2020


  Odum School of Ecology review and Dean search

A nine-member committee has been appointed to conduct a condensed review of the Odum School of Ecology that will inform the search for the school’s next Dean.

Anna Scheyett, Professor and Dean of the School of Social Work, will chair the committee, which reflects a broad range of expertise and experience in teaching, research, and service in ecology and related fields. The committee, whose work will be supported by the Provost’s Office, will gather data and solicit input to assess the Odum School’s academic reputations; quality of teaching, research, and service; strength and diversity of faculty and students; organization and operations.

After the review is complete, the membership of the committee will be expanded to include student and other stakeholder representation, and the search and screening process will begin with the assistance of the UGA Search Group in Human Resources.

In addition to Dean Scheyett, the committee members are:

  • James (Jeb) Byers, Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professor of Ecology, Odum School of Ecology
  • Jill Anderson, Associate Professor, Odum School of Ecology and Department of Genetics, Franklin College of Arts and Sciences
  • Justin Bahl, Associate Professor, Department of Infectious Diseases, College of Veterinary Medicine, and Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, College of Public Health
  • Sonia Hernandez, Professor, Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources and Department of Population Health, College of Veterinary Medicine
  • Ricardo Holdo, Associate Professor, Odum School of Ecology
  • E. (Gene) Rhodes, UGA Athletic Association Professor in Applied Ecology, Odum School of Ecology, and Director, Savannah River Ecology Laboratory
  • Pejman Rohani, UGA Athletic Association Professor in Ecology and Infectious Diseases and Regents’ Professor, Odum School of Ecology and Department of Infectious Diseases, College of Veterinary Medicine
  • Allison Walters, Development and Alumni Relations Coordinator, Odum School of Ecology

Updates on the search will be shared with recipients of this memo and also will be posted to

John Gittleman, UGA Foundation Professor and founding Dean of the Odum School, recently announced that he will step down as Dean and return to the faculty at the end of the 2020-2021 academic year, on June 30, 2021.