Vice Presidents, Deans, Directors, and Franklin College Faculty and Staff


  Jack Hu, Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost


  September 15, 2021


  Franklin College Dean Search Announcement

A 19-member search advisory committee chaired by Matthew Auer, Dean of the School of Public and International Affairs, has been appointed to conduct a national search for the next Dean of the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences.

The committee includes faculty, staff, student, and alumni representation. It is being assisted by Korn Ferry. Anyone who wishes to nominate candidates for consideration is invited to contact Paul Chou, Co-Managing Director and Senior Client Partner at Korn Ferry, at (215) 656-5316 or

In addition to Dean Auer, the committee members are:

  • Yohannes Abate, Susan Dasher and Charles Dasher MD Professor of Physics in the Department of Physics and Astronomy
  • Juanita Johnson-Bailey, Director of the Institute for Women's Studies, University Professor, and Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professor in the Department of Lifelong Education, Administration, and Policy in the Mary Frances Early College of Education
  • Elizabeth Davis, Senior Academic Professional in the Department of English and Coordinator of the Writing Certificate Program
  • Subhraleena Deka, doctoral student in the Department of Comparative Literature and Intercultural Studies, and President of the Graduate Student Association
  • Connie Frigo, Professor of Saxophone in the Hugh Hodgson School of Music and Associate Academic Director of the Willson Center for Humanities and Arts
  • Krzysztof Kochut, Professor and Associate Head of the Department of Computer Science
  • Ping Ma, Distinguished Research Professor in the Department of Statistics
  • Margaret Ann Martin, former Chair of the Franklin Board of Advisors, Founding Partner and retired COO of the marketing communications agency Fletcher Martin
  • Aaron Meskin, Professor and Head of the Department of Philosophy
  • Mary Ann Moran, Regents’ Professor and Distinguished Research Professor in the Department of Marine Sciences
  • Will O'Neil, undergraduate Honors student majoring in atmospheric sciences and geography
  • Christopher Robinson, Director of UGA Cortona in the Office of Global Engagement and Ceramics Instructor in the Lamar Dodd School of Art
  • Gregory Robinson, UGA Foundation Professor in the Department of Chemistry
  • Stephanie Rosso, Senior Director for Finance and Administration in the Franklin College Dean’s Office
  • Marshall Shepherd, Georgia Athletic Association Distinguished Professor and Director of the Atmospheric Sciences Program in the Department of Geography
  • Michelle vanDellen, Associate Professor in the Department of Psychology
  • Christopher West, Professor and Head of the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • Beth Woods, Executive Director for Information Technology, Franklin College Office of Information Technology

As noted previously, Alan T. Dorsey announced that he will step down as Dean and return to the faculty on June 30, 2022, after 10 years of leading the Franklin College.

Updates on the search will be shared with recipients of this memo and will be posted to

Franklin College of Arts and Sciences Announcement – June 4, 2021