SEC Academic Relations

The University of Georgia and the 13 other Southeastern Conference institutions participate in collaborative higher education programs and activities administered by the SEC Academic Relations department designed to highlight the teaching, research, and service accomplishments of SEC students, faculty, and staff, including related successes within the Conference’s intercollegiate athletics programs. The department is led by Dr. Torie A. Johnson (Ed.D, ’17), SEC Associate Commissioner for Academic Relations.

SEC Academic Leadership Development Program

A professional development program to identify and prepare leaders for roles within higher education. It features a university‐level curriculum designed by each SEC institution for its own participants; two, SEC‐wide three‐day workshops held on specified campuses for all participants; and a competitive fellowship for former participants. See Administrative Fellows Program.  


SEC Faculty Achievement Awards Program

These awards recognize SEC faculty with outstanding records in teaching and research and are administered by the Office of the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost. There is one winner/nominee per campus and one overall winner for the Conference, and all receive an honorarium and an award from the SEC. UGA's Loch Johnson was named the inaugural SEC Professor of the Year in 2012.


SEC Faculty Travel Program

To enhance collaboration that stimulates initiatives between SEC universities, this program provides faculty members from each SEC university the opportunity to travel to other SEC campuses to exchange ideas, develop grant proposals, present lectures, conduct research, and deliver performances.

SEC Faculty Travel Grant Program participants are selected through an annual internal competition that is announced each May on the Research Announcements Page and Limited Submissions Calendar. For more information on the SEC Faculty Travel Program, please contact Alex Aspley in the Office of Research at