Article I: The University

Section 1: Unit of University System

The University of Georgia, chartered in 1785, is the oldest of several institutions of higher education which compose the University System of Georgia. It is subject to the jurisdiction of the Board of Regents.

Section 2: Statement of Purpose

The University's mission is to engage in instruction, research, and service.

Section 3: Schools and Colleges

The University presently includes the following schools and colleges (each school and college may be subdivided into divisions and departments):

  • The Franklin College of Arts and Sciences (1801),
  • the School of Law (1859),
  • the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences (1859),
  • the College of Pharmacy (1903),
  • the Warnell School of Forest Resources (1906),
  • the College of Education (1908),
  • the Graduate School (1910),
  • the Terry College of Business (1912),
  • the Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication (1915),
  • the College of Family and Consumer Sciences (1933),
  • the College of Veterinary Medicine (1946),
  • the School of Social Work (1964),
  • the College of Environment and Design (1969),
  • the School of Public and International Affairs (2001),
  • the College of Public Health (2005),
  • the Eugene P. Odum School of Ecology (2007),
  • the Georgia Regents University/UGA Medical Partnership (2009), and
  • the College of Engineering

Section 4: Degrees

The faculty with academic rank shall recommend to the President of the University the candidates for degrees which have been authorized by the Board of Regents.[[Policies of the Board of Regents, Degrees, General, § 3.8.1.]]