Vice Presidents, Deans, Directors, and School of Social Work faculty and staff


  Jack Hu, Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost


  July 15, 2021


  School of Social Work Dean Search Committee

A 14-member search advisory committee chaired by Marsha Davis, Dean of the College of Public Health, has been appointed to conduct a national search for the next Dean of the School of Social Work.

Faculty, staff, students, or community members who wish to nominate candidates for consideration are invited to contact Michael Luthi, Director of the UGA Search Group, at

In addition to Dean Davis, the search committee members are:

  • Jennifer Abbott, Director of External Affairs and Special Projects, Alumni Affairs, and Development in the School of Social Work
  • Leon Banks, Senior Academic Professional and Director, Bachelor of Social Work program
  • Mary Caplan, Associate Professor of Social Work
  • Joon Choi, Associate Professor of Social Work, Interim Associate Dean for Faculty and Academic Affairs
  • Llewellyn J. Cornelius, Donald L. Hollowell Distinguished Professor of Social Justice and Civil Rights Studies and Director, Center for Social Justice, Human, and Civil Rights
  • Jennifer Elkins, Associate Professor of Social Work and Director, Master of Social Work program
  • Rachel Fusco, UGA Athletic Association Professor in Health and Well-Being
  • Jeremy Gibbs, Assistant Professor of Social Work
  • Gabriela Lor, graduate student in the School of Social Work
  • Anthony Mallon, Clinical Associate Professor of Social Work and Director, Institute for Nonprofit Organizations
  • David Meyers, Senior Public Service Associate, Fanning Institute for Leadership Development
  • David Okech, Professor of Social Work and Director, Center on Human Trafficking Research and Outreach
  • Tiffany Washington, Associate Professor of Social Work and Interim Director, Ph.D. program

Dean Anna Scheyett, who has led of the School of Social Work since 2016, previously announced that she will step down as Dean on Dec. 31, 2021 and return to the faculty.

Updates on the search will be shared with recipients of this memo and will be posted to