Provost's Seminar Series


Spring 2020 Seminar Series

  • Darryl Pines

    Daryll J. Pines | Engineering

    "Aerospace Prizes Inspire the Five I’s of Success"

    - Dean, Clark School of Engineering
    - Professor of Aerospace Engineering
    - Aerospace Engineering

    March 5, 2020 

    Reception: 3:30 p.m., Coverdell Rotunda
    Seminar: 4:00 p.m., Coverdell Auditorium (Room 175)

    Pines is a member of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE), American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA), and Institute of Physics (IOP).

    Faculty Profile I Meet the Dean

    Event hosted by the College of Engineering

  • Roger Cone

    Roger Cone | Life Sciences

    - Mary Sue Coleman Director & Research Professor, U-M Life Sciences Institute
    - Vice Provost & Director, U-M Biosciences Initiative
    - Professor, Department of Molecular & Integrative Physiology, U-M
    - Medical School Professor, Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology, LSA

    March 30, 2020
    Seminar: 9:30 a.m., Coverdell Auditorium

    Cone is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Medicine, and Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

    Faculty Profile

    Hosted by the Office of Research

Fall 2020 Seminar Series

  • Joanna Drucker

    Johanna Drucker | Digital Humanities

    - Breslauer Professor of Bibliographical Studies,
      Department of Information Studies at UCLA
    - Distinguished Professor of Information Studies

    September 25 at 1 p.m., Zoom virtual lecture

    Drucker is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

    Faculty Profile 

    Sponsored by the Office of the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost, Willson Center, UGA Libraries, Franklin College of Arts and Sciences


Fall 2021 Seminar Series

  • Annette Gordon-Reed

    Annette Gordon-Reed
    Carl M. Loeb University Professor of History, Harvard University

    Constitution Day: “On Juneteenth: History, Memory, the Present and the Future”

    September 17, 11:30 a.m., Zoom Webinar

    Gordon-Reed is a distinguished professor and a Pulitzer Prize-winning author of “The Hemingses of Monticello: An American Family” and “On Juneteenth.” She has received numerous honors, including the Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center for Scholars and Writers at the New York Public Library Fellowship, a Guggenheim Fellowship, a MacArthur Fellowship, the National Humanities Medal, the National Book Award, the Frederick Douglass Book Prize, the George Washington Book Prize and the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award. Her lecture is part of Constitution Day, an annual celebration of the day that representatives to the Constitutional Convention in Philadelphia completed and signed the U.S. Constitution in 1787.

    Registration for this virtual event is required.
    Visit for more information and to register.

    Co-sponsored by the American Founding Group, The Gable Fund of the Department of History, Jack Miller Center, Office of Institutional Diversity, President’s Venture Fund, School of Law, School of Public and International Affairs, and Willson Center for Humanities and Arts.

    Add To Calendar


The Office of the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost is seeking nominations for a seminar series that brings members of the following academies to campus to share their insights and meet with members of the campus community:

  • American Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • National Academy of Sciences
  • National Academy of Engineering
  • National Academy of Medicine

The Provost’s Office will invite up to two speakers each Fall and Spring semester, and nominations will be considered on a rolling basis. Nominations for the Provost’s Seminar Series may be submitted via this link.

Nominators and their respective unit heads or deans are expected to serve as hosts for their selected speaker. The Provost’s Office will cover all travel expenses for speakers and provide a nominal honorarium. Talks given through the Provost’s Seminar Series are also eligible for designation as a Signature Lecture.


All nominations will be retained for future consideration if not selected initially. For more information about the Provost’s Seminar Series, please contact Will Richardson at (706) 583-0506 or

Provost's Seminar Series Nomination Form