SEC Academic Relations

The University of Georgia and the 13 other Southeastern Conference institutions participate in collaborative higher education programs and activities administered by the SEC Academic Relations department designed to highlight the teaching, research, and service accomplishments of SEC students, faculty, and staff, including related successes within the Conference’s intercollegiate athletics programs. The department is led by LeNá Powe McDonald, SEC Associate Commissioner for Academic Relations.

SEC Academic Leadership Development Program

A professional development program to identify and prepare leaders for roles within higher education. It features a university‐level curriculum designed by each SEC institution for its own participants; two, SEC‐wide three‐day workshops held on specified campuses for all participants; and a competitive fellowship for former participants. Questions about the University of Georgia's SEC Academic Leadership Development Program should be directed to the Office of Faculty Affairs.

UGA hosted the SEC ALDP Fall Workshop for the 2021-2022 Fellows cohort. Resources from the workshop are available for download.

SEC Faculty Achievement Awards Program

These awards recognize SEC faculty with outstanding records in teaching and research and are administered by the Office of the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost. There is one winner/nominee per campus and one overall winner for the Conference, and all receive an honorarium and an award from the SEC. UGA has had two winners for the Conference. Loch Johnson was named the inaugural SEC Professor of the Year in 2012, and Marshall Shepherd received the award in 2022. 

SEC Faculty Travel Program

To enhance collaboration that stimulates initiatives between SEC universities, this program provides faculty members from each SEC university the opportunity to travel to other SEC campuses to exchange ideas, develop grant proposals, present lectures, conduct research, and deliver performances.

SEC Faculty Travel Grant Program participants are selected through an annual internal competition that is announced each May on the Research Announcements Page and Limited Submissions Calendar. For more information on the SEC Faculty Travel Program, please contact Alex Aspley in the Office of Research at

SEC Emerging Scholars Program

The Emerging Scholars Program was established to aid in preparing future faculty members among SEC univerisities. It is designed to provide professional development and networking opportunities for current doctoral students and a limited number of postdoctoral researchers who are considering careers in higher education. More details about UGA's involvement in the Emerging Scholars Program are available through the Graduate School

SEC MBA Case Competition

These graduate level competitions provide an opportunity for SEC business schools to showcase their students' skills at solving simulated, real-world problems that cover the spectrum of business disciplines. Teams of four MBA students compete against other SEC teams, and the best receive various awards and recognitions. UGA's Terry College of Business is the host of the 2023 SEC MBA Case Competition.