Aspire Fellows

2021-2022 Aspire Fellows

In the Aspire Fellows Program, mid-career and senior faculty members will build upon their existing successes and strengths to create and complete a signature project that will extend their professional impact. To support this project, each fellow will formulate and adopt an individual professional development plan. Fellows will benefit from an interdisciplinary community of peers and from a structured approach to support their professional development and signature projects.

Benefits of the Aspire Fellows Program

Aspire Fellows gain:

  • Framework to support successful completion of a significant project, designed by each Fellow
  • Augmented skills essential to success as senior faculty (i.e., project management, leadership, team building, and improved communication across differences)
  • An approach to planning for the changing demands of faculty life
  • Connection and collaboration with a cross-disciplinary community of peers
  • Enhanced knowledge and skills learned from sustained, individualized professional development
  • Small group and individual coaching sessions with Mary Carney, Faculty Affairs Director of Programming
  • Meetings with UGA experts who are selected by Aspire Fellows to be invited to a cohort meeting

Program time commitment:  August 2021 to April 2022. Meetings times will be determined, in part, by cohort schedules. Meetings will follow a blended format of face-to-face and virtual interaction. Participants agree to devote approximately 6 hours per month. 

Participants:  Associate professors, professors, and mid-career/senior faculty on any career track who want to work towards an aspirational goal in a structured environment.   

Application and nomination: Applicants nominate themselves and include a letter from their supervisor in the application. Applications accepted until June 11, 2021.  Once applications have been reviewed, finalists will have a 15 minute video meeting with Dr. Carney, who leads the program. Then, invitations to selected fellows will follow. To apply, please complete online Aspire Application form and upload the following documents:

  • Statement of interest (1-2 pages) that includes: 
    • Upload here your personal statement of interest (1-2 pages) that includes: 
      1.  Name, title, email address
      2. College, school, or related unit
      3. Current aspirations, experience, and skills that you want to leverage for next stage of your career
      4. Idea for a significant project that will take you to new horizons in your career
      5. Expectations for how your participation in Aspire cohort will contribute to your success and that of your unit
  • A brief letter of support (1 page) from the candidate’s supervisor discussing motivation, potential, and commitment to identify and achieve an aspirational goal. 

Have Questions?
  Please contact OFA Faculty & Leadership Development